Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Viva Riva!

This month, Mills & Boon launches its newest line: Riva.



From the writing guidelines on the M&B page:

Launching in January 2011, Riva is a vibrant, exciting new stream of editorial for readers who enjoy authors such as Louise Bagshawe, Tasmina Perry, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella. Upmarket, glossy and sharply contemporary, these stories sparkle with humour, passion and emotion

If you like your stories hot & steamy...
Then you’ll love the Rivas written by original, fresh authors such as Heidi Rice, Natalie Anderson, Kelly Hunter, Kimberly Lang, Anne Oliver, Anna Cleary and Lucy King, formerly published in Mills & Boon Modern Heat These entertaining romances reflect the life experiences of today’s young women, within a chic, glamorous, and usually urban setting. The offer international glamour, passion and alpha male heroes you expect from Modern, with a flirty young voice and a whole load of sass. The heroines are often your twenty-something girls-about-town but there's no compromising on the hero: he must be very alpha and absolutely to die for. There’ll be sparks flying when these two meet – and nothing short of fireworks once they get to the bedroom!

If you like your stories flirty & sweet...
Then you’ll love the Rivas written by flirty, young voices such as Liz Fielding, Nina Harrington, Fiona Harper and Jackie Braun, formerly published in Mills & Boon Romance. These stories should reflect the experiences of today’s young women – whether it be dating disasters, juggling a work/life balance or overcoming a broken heart. Each story should have an emotional core with believable emotional conflicts but told in an up-beat, fun, contemporary way. The hero should be sexy, aspirational and the romantic tension should sizzle, but when it comes to the bedroom – the door should be firmly closed. We are open to romantic comedies, first person narratives and interesting twists on classic romantic themes

We are on the lookout for new authors who can convey that young urban feel with 21st century characters, simmering tension, either with or without the hot sex!

Our top editor tip: there is no better way to fully understand the Riva experience than to read as many of them as possible!

And lookie here -- one of the launch titles!



That's my Girls' Guide to Flirting With Danger (look for it in AU/NZ in Feb in the Sexy line, and the US in March as a Presents EXTRA) in that intro package!

Now, I love this story anyway, but I'm really proud it was chosen as one of the launch titles. I'm out with the fab Kelly Hunter, Nicola Marsh, and Jessica Hart this month, and, so far, the response to Riva has been very exciting!

So, what do you think of the new look?

PC

5 comments:

Christine said...

Congratulations on a beautiful cover and the new imprint. I'm looking forward to reading these books.

Playground Monitor said...

It's beautiful! And it should stand out on a shelf of books. Congrats on being one of the launch authors. We've always known you were a trailblazer.

Angel said...

I love the colors! They also have a sassy, sexy feel. And how totally cool to be a "launch author"?!?! Congrats.

Angel

LA said...

I think the colors are bold and sassy....kinda like flirtin' with danger!

Smarty Pants said...

Very exciting! I hope RIVA takes off!